top of page

Breech Babies


Is your baby breech?... Mine was too! Our little man decided to shift himself head up at 30 weeks... got comfy and decided not to budge after that... I would like to blame his dad for this passed on stubbornness but unfortunately I think he might just have picked this up from me...

When I first found out that he was breech I have to admit that I was a little disappointed. You see, I had been attending hypnobirthing classes with the vision of being a total earth mother and giving birth to my child myself without much medical intervention was really important to me ( I have to tell you that the whole earth mother thing developed in pregnancy and came as a bit of a shock to my husband and family as I had always said that I would take the menu of drugs on the go as long as it meant no pain!!...)

I know all the midwives and your family will tell you that as long as the baby is okay then that's all that matters, and while that is absolutely true it doesn't stop you from being a little bit sad that the precious experience of delivering your little bundle won't be what you have envisaged. I totally get it. We were given the option of having my tummy manipulated to try and make the baby move round into the correct position or having an elective section, My midwife was great and informed me that trying to move the baby is less than 50% effective and so we decided to opt for the section! After all he was comfy and I will always remember my mum saying to my when I was particularly upset that he may have moved for a reason and that stuck with me!

In the lead up to our section my emotions were so mixed! On one hand I was so excited to meet my baby but on the other hand I was absolutely terrified of going into theatre for the section... Well let me tell you how wrong I was!! It was bloody marvellous! Both my husband and I walked into theatre at 10am and after a wee cry from me at the beginning out of sheer scaredyness the procedure started. After the local anesthetic I didn't feel a thing... not even the spinal and a short hour later we were being wheeled back out to recovery with my baby in my arms. I was so frightened for so long about the needles and that it would be something like a gorey horror film when they pulled the baby out and it was the complete opposite! A totally calm and lovely environment to bring our little boy into. It was just lovely!

The recovery has been a little sore and tight at times but as long as you keep up on your pain medication you will be absolutely fine... I promise you! If your partner is anything like mine then they will actually enjoy giving you your injections for the first few days! Buggers!!

While I'm sure this won't be everyones experience... it was definitely mine so please don't listen to the horror stories that people will be dying to tell you - I know i heard plenty ( I don't know why but i'm sure people actually enjoy petrifying each other) Tell them to bugger off and enjoy looking forward to meeting your baby... it's the best experience in the whole world!

x

A little about me...

Hi, I'm Jo a brand new mummy...

Recent Posts
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
bottom of page